It is critical that you are able to identify the different shark species. You must know what species of shark has been caught when reporting violations to FWC Law Enforcement. Prohibited shark species must remain in the water with the gills submerged when fishing from shore or a vessel, and prohibited shark species must be released without delay when fishing from the shore. If hook or leader removal delays the release, the hook or the leader must be cut as close to the hook as possible. Together we can protect Florida's sharks and expose illegal shark fishing. 


Hammerhead - Great and Scalloped




Full list of Prohibited Shark Species shall include:

1. Atlantic angel shark.

2. Basking shark.

3. Bigeye sand tiger.

4. Bigeye sixgill shark.

5. Bigeye thresher.

6. Bignose shark.

7. Bluntnose sixgill shark.

8. Caribbean reef shark. 

9. Caribbean sharpnose shark.

10. Dusky shark. 

11. Galapagos shark.

12. Great hammerhead.

13. Lemon shark.

14. Longfin mako.

15. Narrowtooth shark.

16. Night shark.

17. Sandbar shark.

18. Sand tiger.

19. Scalloped hammerhead.

20. Sharpnose sevengill shark.

21. Silky shark.

22. Smalltail shark.

23. Smooth hammerhead.

24. Spiny dogfish.

25. Tiger shark.

26. Whale shark.

27. White shark.

28. Largetooth sawfish (Pristis pristis).

29. Smalltooth sawfish (Pristis pectinata).

30. Manta ray (species of the genera Manta and Mobula).

31. Spotted eagle ray (Aetobatus narinari)

Shark Watch Logo

Have A Tip On Shark Fishing Activity? 

Click here to Submit A Tip. 

Fish Kill Hotline

If you see a dead shark call the Fish Kill Hotline at (800)-636-0511.

Copyright © 2021 Shark Watch All rights reserved.